Research Guides: Opticianry: Research Opticianry Products

Reference Librarian

CALL:
Downtown: 804.523.5211
Parham: 804.523.5220
Goochland: 804.523.5419

To look for a review from outside of the manufacturer, try a Google search that includes:

"name of product" & the word review

examples: anti fog lenses review

Precision1 review

NOTE: Pay close attention to the ending of the website address like .com, .org, etc.

Investigate who is really behind the website by looking under the "About" section.

Also do a separate search outside of the 1st website you find to get another opinion.

*Consider that these websites may be trying to sell you something & have bias towards certain products.

EBSCO - Search ALL databases This link opens in a new window
Check the box to SELECT ALL databases & click OK. Searching more databases at once may help with tough to find topics!

Librarians Top Picks - Try these databases first for finding company information:

Business Source Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Includes full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Also includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, case studies, investment research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. (Full text)
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Information on public and private U.S. and International companies. Includes company financials, subsidiaries, capital stock (ex. dividends and splits), executive officers, insider traders, SEC filings, company news, company annual reports, competitor information, equity and corporate bond portraits, and industry reports. (Full text)
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Business focused database offers full text access to magazines, journals, leading local, national and international newspapers and news wires. Also provides in-depth research on a company, industry or marketplace. Maximum number of simultaneous users is 70. (Full text)

Also Try These Databases:

Access World News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Access World News features thousands of U.S. and global news sources. Includes political science, journalism, English, history, environmental studies, sociology, economics, education, business, social sciences and more. (Full text)
MasterFILE Premier [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive general database includes journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering a wide variety of topics. (Full-text)