Skip to Main Content

BIO-101: Bean Beetles

Find articles

Try some of these keywords when searching articles:

When using the library catalog or the library's eBook databases to find books, try these keywords:

  • bean beetles
  • bean weevils
  • beetles
  • bruchinae
  • callosobruchus maculatus
  • chrysomelidae
  • coleoptera
  • coleopterology
  • cowpea weevils
  • cowpea seed beetles
  • seed beetles

 

Academic Search Complete search tips:

  1. Enter bean beetle or other keywords in the search box.
  2. To limit your search, check mark the boxes next to Full-Text and Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals from the Limit your results menus.

 

BioOne search tips:

1. Enter bean beetle or other keywords in the search box near the top.

2. When the results screen appears, you can limit your search to Publication Year Range and Open Access articles by using the limiting menus on the left.

    

 

ProQuest search tips:

  1. Enter bean beetle or other keywords in the search box.
  2. To limit your search from the initial basic search screen, check mark the boxes next to Full text and Peer reviewed.

 

ScienceDirect search tips:

1. Enter bean beetle or other keywords in the search box near the top.

2. When the results screen appears, you can limit your search to Publication Year, Article Type, and Access Type by using the limiting menus on the left.

    

 

Springer Link search tips:

  1. Click on the wheel icon to the right of the basic search box.  When a menu appears, click on Advanced Search.
  2. When the Advanced Search screen appears, enter bean beetle or other keywords in the with all of the the words search box.
  3. You can also enter a date range in the Show documents published year boxes.
  4. UNCHECK the box next to Include Preview-Only Content.

 

Wiley Online Library search tips:

  1. Enter the bean beetle or other keywords in the search box.
  2. To limit your search, you can also enter a date range.
  3. When the search results screen appears, accessible full-text articles are indicated by the icons, Free Access, Full Access or Open Access.
  4. Click on the title to access the full article.

 

 

Use My Reynolds username and password to access library databases from off-campus. 

If you click on any Reynolds Library database link from off-campus, you will get a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen first.  Login with the same username and password you use for accessing any services through My Reynolds (e.g., Canvas). After you login, you will get the database search screen.

If you are a student currently enrolled in a Reynolds course, and cannot login from off campus, please email Will Weaver (Web Services Librarian) dweaver@reynolds.edu or call 804.523.5323.

 

Off-Campus Access

If you click on any Reynolds Libraries database link (including direct links to specific articles, eBooks and videos) from off-campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. Use your My Reynolds username & multifactor authentication (MFA) to access any of the library databases from off-campus. 

  1. From the Virginia's Community Colleges login screen, enter your username then click on the Go button.
  2. When prompted, enter your Authorizing PIN number on your mobile phone.

If you cannot login from off campus, email library@reynolds.edu or call 804.523.5211 - or - 523-5220.

ProQuest Central eBooks Note: If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from ON or OFF campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from the library catalog, you will also be prompted to select your institution, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College.