Skip to Main Content

Research @ Reynolds Libraries

Learning Outcomes

Module 1 Learning Outcomes:

​ACRL Frame:

After completing Module 1, students will be able to:
  1. Identify resources and tools for exploring topic ideas and developing a topic.
  2. Identify guidelines for choosing and developing a topic.
  3. Understand the research process for developing a topic.

Module 2 Learning Outcomes:

ACRL Frames:

After completing Module 2, students will be able to:

  1. ​Understand the stages of the Information Cycle.
  2. Identify different types of information sources.
  3. Identify the differences between popular magazine articles and scholarly journal articles.
  4. Identify the differences between primary sources and secondary sources.
  5. Understand what each source type covers and when to use a particular source.
  6. Identify the retrieval methods for each source type.
  7. Identify citations for a book, popular magazine article, and scholarly journal article.

Module 3 Learning Outcomes:

​ACRL Frame:

After completing Module 3, students should be able to:

  1. Understand the different elements in a library catalog record.
  2. Understand the differences between a keyword search and subject search.
  3. Understand how to use Boolean connectors in a search.
  4. Understand how to use exact phrase searching.
  5. Understand how to use truncation in a search.
  6. Understand how to access and use Quick Search for finding books.
  7. Understand how to read Library of Congress call numbers and how to locate books with these call numbers on the library shelves.
  8. Identify two eBook database collections.
  9. Understand how to borrow books from other libraries.

Module 4 Learning Outcomes:

ACRL Frame:

After completing Module 4, students should be able to:

  1. Understand what a database is.
  2. Identify two library databases.
  3. Understand the different elements in a library database record.
  4. Understand the differences between a keyword search and subject search.
  5. Understand how to use Boolean connectors in a search.
  6. Understand how to use exact phrase searching.
  7. Understand how to use truncation in a search.
  8. Understand how to access and use library databases for finding articles.
  9. Understand how to access the library databases from off-campus.
  10. Understand how to locate full-text articles using the LincIt and Search Journals tools.
  11. Understand how to request articles from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan.

Module 5 Learning Outcomes:

​ACRL Frames:

After completing Module 5, students will be able to:

  1. Understand that only a small fraction of the world's information is available through the open Web.
  2. Understand the differences between information found in the library databases and information found on the open Web.

Module 6 Learning Outcomes:

ACRL Frames:

After completing Module 6, students will be able to:

  1. Identify the criteria for evaluating the credibility of resources.
  2. Evaluate resources based on the ABCD criteria checklist.
  3. Identify a credible resource using the ABCD criteria checklist.
  4. Identify how and where to find an author's credentials.
  5. Identify a web site type based on the URL domain suffix.
  6. Understand the basics of how Wikipedia works.
  7. Identify the best uses of Wikipedia for a research assignment. 

Module 7 Learning Outcomes:

ACRL Frames:

After completing Module 7, students will be able to:

  1. Understand what plagiarism is.
  2. Understand why it is important to cite sources.
  3. Identify types of plagiarism.
  4. Identify tips for avoiding plagiarism.
  5. Identify parts of a citation for various types of resources.
  6. Identify two citation styles.
  7. Identify where to get help in citing sources.
  8. Understand the basics of how to cite various types of resources in APA and MLA format.
Tags: research