What does full-text mean?
The full-text of an online article is the complete (entire) article. Databases provide full-text articles in different formats including:
- HTML only
- PDF only
- Both HTML and PDF
Do all article databases provide full-text?
No. Article databases differ in the amount of full-text articles they provide:
- Some databases include full-text for ALL the articles indexed in a database collection.
- Some databases include full-text for only a PORTION of the articles indexed in a database collection. For articles that are not available in full-text, a citation (reference) and abstract (summary) or citation only is provided.
- Some databases provide NO full text. These databases provide a citation (reference) and abstract (summary) or citation only for all the articles indexed.
If I found an article citation in a database and the full-text article is not available in this database, what options do I have for finding the full-text article?
-
Search the the title of the journal, magazine, or newspaper using our Journal Finder tool to find out if the full-text is available online through any of Reynolds Libraries databases - OR - if it’s available in print at any campus library. Make sure you search for the periodical title (e.g., American Journal of Psychology, Newsweek) and not the article title
-
If the article you are interested in is not available online via Reynolds Libraries databases or in print at a campus library, you can request a copy of the article by filling out our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Request form. Our library staff will process your request by finding a library that can email you a link to the full article. It usually takes at least several days before you receive a link to the full article in your email.
