Skip to main content

Research @ Reynolds Libraries

4 c. Locate full-text articles

Full Text Articles

What does full-text mean?

The full-text of an online article is the complete printable article. Databases provide full-text articles in different formats including:

  • HTML only 
  • PDF only 
  • Both HTML and PDF

Do all article databases provide full-text?

No. Article databases differ in the amount of full-text articles they provide:

  • Some databases include full-text for ALL the articles indexed.
  • Some databases include full-text for only a PORTION of the articles indexed. For articles that are not available in full-text, a citation and abstract (summary) or citation only is provided.
  • Some databases provide NO full text.  These databases provide a citation and abstract (summary) or citation only for all the articles indexed. 

If I found an article citation in a database and the full-text article is not available in this database, what options do I have for finding the full-text article?

  1.   If there is a LincIT option in the database, click on this option to see if there is another database that contains the full-text article. Or try step 2 below.
  2. Search the the title of the journal, magazine, or newspaper using our Search Journals tool to find out if the full-text is available online through any of Reynolds Library's databases - OR - if it’s available in print in the library. Make sure you search for the periodical title (e.g., American Journal of Psychology, Newsweek) and not the article title
  3. If the Reynolds libraries do not own the online or print copy of the periodical title, you can check to see if any Richmond area libraries have the item by searching their catalogs. Again, be sure you search or type in the name of the periodical title, not the article title. A reference librarian will also be happy to assist you in identifying a close-by library that has the item.
  4. Alternatively, you can fill out our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Request form to request items that are not available through Reynolds Libraries. 

 

Journal Finder

Find Reynolds full text journals by title or ISSN in the box below:

 

Browse Reynolds full text Journals by Subject Area: