Skip to Main Content

Integrating Library Resources into Canvas

Important Note About Instructions in this Guide

The instructions provided in this guide assume that you are working from off-campus and are prompted to login to your My Reynolds to find resources in the library databases for your course section/s. These instructions also assume that you are NOT using or connected to a Virtual Private Network (VPN) such as Global Protect. If you do use a VPN, make sure to disconnect before you follow the instructions in this guide. If you are working from on campus or are connected to a VPN from off-campus, the proxy server information you should see in a URL (e.g., ezjsrcc.vccs.edu) will not appear in the URL and as such, students will not be able to authenticate through the proxy server and access these library database resources from off campus.

Proxy Server & URL Prefix

The library's licensed databases available through Reynolds Libraries, VCCS and VIVA (The Virtual Library of Virginia) requires off-campus access restriction to Reynolds faculty, staff and students. This is accomplished by using a proxy server for off-campus access to these databases that include articles, eBooks and videos. To engage the off-campus proxy server, the URL that connects the user to the vendor's database is modified to include the proxy server information. When you copy a URL for a specific article, book or video from a library database, in most cases you will see the proxy information in the URL. Below is an example of proxy information you may see in the URL:

ezjsrcc.vccs.edu

Off-campus access - Accessing databases from the Reynolds Libraries website

If you click on any Reynolds Libraries database link from off-campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. Use your My Reynolds username & multifactor authentication (MFA) to access any of the library databases from off-campus. 

  1. From the Virginia's Community Colleges login screen, enter your username then click on the Go button.
  2. When prompted, enter your Authorizing PIN number on your mobile phone.

If you cannot login from off campus, email library@reynolds.edu or call 804.523.5211 - or - 523-5220.

ProQuest Central eBooks Note: If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from ON or OFF campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from the library catalog, you will also be prompted to select your institution, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College.

Off-campus access - Accessing databases, articles, eBooks and videos from within Canvas:

Accessing databases, articles, eBooks and videos from within Canvas:

After you log into Canvas from off-campus and click on a link to any database, article, eBook or video, you should be brought directly to the resource. You should NOT be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. If you are prompted with a Virginia's Community College login screen, login again with your My Reynolds username and multi-factor authentication.