Research Guides: Statistics: Databases

Need research help? Ask me!

Denise Woetzel

Email Me

Subjects: Education, English & Literature, Health Sciences, History, Information Literacy, Psychology, Sociology

EMAIL:
library@reynolds.edu

CALL:
Downtown: 804.523.5211
Parham: 804.523.5220
Goochland: 804.523.5419

Statistical databases

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Gain deep insights into any area of interest - down to a city block, with stunning visualizations and built-in data. Use Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads that help you reach your goals. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more.

Other databases that include statistics

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. (Full text)

When viewing a specific report, click on Maps/Graphs option from the menu on the left to view statistics.

Issues & Controversies [Infobase] This link opens in a new window
Presents and enhances the full backfile of Issues and Controversies On File. Chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information augment the balanced, accurate coverage of current and historical events. (Full text)

When viewing a specific report, click on By the Numbers from the menu on the left to view statistics.

Opposing Viewpoints [Gale] This link opens in a new window
Access to a wide variety of resources covering current social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Includes pro/con viewpoint essays, scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers, statistics and primary sources. (Full-text)

From the results list, click on Statistics from the Content Types menu near the top to view statistics.

Off-Campus Access

If you click on any Reynolds Libraries database link (including direct links to specific articles, eBooks and videos) from off-campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. Use your My Reynolds username & multifactor authentication (MFA) to access any of the library databases from off-campus.

From the Virginia's Community Colleges login screen, enter your username then click on the Go button.
When prompted, enter your Authorizing PIN number on your mobile phone.

For more detailed information on accessing resources from Reynolds Libraries databases from off-campus, click here.

If you cannot login from off campus, email library@reynolds.edu or call 804.523.5211 - or - 523-5220.

ProQuest Central eBooks Note: If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from ON or OFF campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from the library catalog, you will also be prompted to select your institution, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College.