Research Guides: Nursing: Finding Books

Reference Librarian

Lynn Riggs

EMAIL:
library@reynolds.edu

CALL:
Downtown: 804.523.5211
Parham: 804.523.5220
Goochland: 804.523.5419

E-Books

Fundamental Concepts and Skills for Nursing
Call Number: RT41 .D443 2022
Downtown Circulating Collection
From Therapeutic Relationships to Transitional Care
Publication Date: 2021
Taylor and Francis eBook
Complementary Therapies in Nursing
Call Number: RT42 .C596 2023
Downtown Circulating Collection

Finding eBooks

eBook Nursing Collection [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
eBook collection focuses on the needs of nursing and allied health professionals, including clinical guides, evidence-based practice manuals, practical handbooks and professional growth titles.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
This is a great source for eBooks on Nursing!
TIP: Be sure to filter your search results by selecting "Content I have access to" on the left side of the screen.
Ebook Central [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
For quick results, choose "Browse Subjects" under the search box, then scroll down to "Health & Medicine: Nursing" and click.
TIP: Make sure to check "Owned and subscribed to by my library" on the left.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
This links directly to SpringerLink's full-text ebooks, which include specialized topic volumes like Pulmonary Function and Orthogeriatrics.
TIP: You'll get broader results by going to the left side of the screen, clicking on "Discipline: see all," then choosing the topic you want to explore (like "Biomedicine" or "Medicine & Public Health").
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
This links to Wiley's digital collection of journal articles and books. Check out the "Search Tips" on the right side of the screen to help target your results.
TIP: Be sure to filter your search results by selecting "Publication Type: Books" on the left side of the screen. Then, click the "Publications" tab at the top of your results list to get books.

Subject Keywords

Nursing

Nursing Care Plans

Nursing Case Studies

Nursing Assessment

Nursing Decision Making

Nursing Diagnosis

Nursing Research methodology

Hint: Use an * to expand your book and article searches. For example, entering pharmac* as a keyword would retrieve pharmacy, pharmacist, pharmaceutical, pharmacology, etc

Search the Reynolds Libraries Catalog

WorldCat

If we don't have a book at Reynolds, you can search WorldCat to find books in area libraries:

Books in our Physical Collection

Although the following books are housed at our Downtown Campus Library, you can have these sent to our Parham Road and Goochland locations for pickup & return.

Essentials for Nursing Practice (Ninth Edition) by Patricia A. Potter (ed.); Anne Griffin Perry (ed.); Patricia A. Stockert (ed.); Amy Hall (ed.)
Call Number: RT41 .P84 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Downtown Circulating Collection
Nursing Care Plans (10th Edition) by Marilynn E. Doenges; Mary Frances Moorhouse; Alice C. Murr
Call Number: RT49 .D64 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Downtown Circulating Collection
Pharmacology for Nurses (Second Edition) by Blaine T. Smith (ed); Diane F. Pacitti (ed.)
Call Number: RM301.28 .P43 2020
Publication Date: 2020
Downtown Circulating Collection
Introduction to Nursing for First Year Students by Calvin Moorley (ed.)
Call Number: RT71 .I69 2020
Publication Date: 2020
Downtown Circulating Collection
Nursing School Entrance Exams Prep 2021-2022 by Kaplan Nursing
Call Number: RT73 .N823 2020
Publication Date: 2020
Downtown Circulating Collection

Browse the Shelf

You can browse the following call number ranges to find books on the topic:

RC435-571 Psychiatry
RD1-811 Surgery
RG1-991 Gynecology & Obstetrics
RJ1-570 Pediatrics
RM1-950 Therapeutics & Pharmacology
RT1-120 Nursing

You can also browse virtually! Use the yellow dropdown menu to Browse by: Library of Congress call numbers, then enter one of the terms from the list above. For example: RM182 will bring up books on phlebotomy.